Empty Nest Syndrome

I could not believe how quickly children grow. Wasn’t it just a few years ago when I held babies in my arms, nursed them, sang lullabies, and taught them their first prayers? It just seemed like I closed my eyes with the images of my young boys clearly etched in my mind, then when I opened my eyes they have become taller, leaner, hairier, and with deeper voices. They don’t hug you as much or give you kisses, only when they need some money or want to go out somewhere. The hardest part of all is to let them go to pursue their dreams. Just recently, my family went on a road trip to send our second son to Utah to join his older brother in attending college over there. I couldn’t help but cry when we had to leave them. My mind was filled with worries on how they will physically,spiritually, and emotionally survive in this far-away place? What worries me the most is whether they will stick to the faith and values that we have taught them or will they find the philosophies of men more attractive to follow in their lives? Now that they don’t have mom to remind (or is it NAG?) them to go to church, to read their scriptures, or to pray everyday, would they still do these small and simple acts to keep their faith in God alive? Or isn’t it the point to let them go so they could find themselves? Questions, questions, worries, worries…Only time will reveal if they will be true and faithful to the faith of their fathers. I certainly hope and pray that they would. In the mean time, I now have more space and less hungry boys to feed in the house.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by: freethecolors

Fun, creative, and humorous are words that describe me. I spend a lot of time with my family which consists of my husband, 4 children and extended relatives. I enjoy making and maintaining true and lasting friendships. Photography, writing, and music help express myself in artistic ways. I love all kinds of sports like basketball, volleyball, and tennis. I am a special education teacher in an urban school district. I feel it's my mission to teach children with disabilities and to be their advocate.

Categories Family1 Comment

One thought on “Empty Nest Syndrome”

  1. Train up a child the way he should go and when he grows up, he will not depart from it …
    You were a beautiful young mother and I admire you. Such a genuine openness of the heart and such an encouragement to me.

Leave a Reply

