Crawfish Mentality

Many have heard of the crab mentality especially in the Philippines. Just observe the behavior of crabs when put in a container. They fearlessly try to claw their way to the top yet the ones under relentlessly pull them down at the same time. In a unified manner, they prevent each other from reaching the top or from experiencing success. I saw the same phenomenon today, not with crabs but with crawfish in our kitchen sink.

They were constantly moving and clawing at each other preventing any of their companions from moving up. Then, one got away despite the downward pressure of the others. Now, this is about the right place for me to share some kind of inspiring insight about what I just witnessed but I will leave it up to you to come up with your conclusion.

For those who behave like crawfish – your attitude needs be boiled, seasoned with “Slap ya Mama”, and eaten!

Published by: freethecolors

Fun, creative, and humorous are words that describe me. I spend a lot of time with my family which consists of my husband, 4 children and extended relatives. I enjoy making and maintaining true and lasting friendships. Photography, writing, and music help express myself in artistic ways. I love all kinds of sports like basketball, volleyball, and tennis. I am a special education teacher in an urban school district. I feel it's my mission to teach children with disabilities and to be their advocate.

Categories culture, foodLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

