Minimalism 2

After careful study of my pictures,  I came to a conclusion that I’m not a  true minimalist photographer. Though most of  my pictures  have simple composition and subjects, there are still too much details, and colors for them to be considered true minimalism.  In other words, they are not simple enough.  I’m not going to overthink this issue.  I have my own style. I don’t have to change it to fit some kind of genre.  I just take my pictures my way, using my minimal equipment, and with my attitude.  If the final product fits a certain genre, then so be it. However, as I went through my photo archives, I discovered a few that may approach true minimalism.

On the philosophical side of things, I tried to analyze the reasons why I’m having difficulty in living a  minimalist life. A friend suggested that in photography, you are in control of what you take pictures of and how you edit them,  but in life there are things that are beyond your control. There could be a sudden illness, natural disasters, economic crisis, and just plain annoying people that could certainly disrupt the peaceful or zen-like atmosphere of a minimalistic life. I have read a really great advice on how to,at least, get rid of the clutter that we can control. Belle Spafford once suggested to women (the message is applicable to all), “The average woman today, I believe, would do well to appraise her interests, evaluate the activities in which she is engaged, and then take steps to simplify her life, putting things of first importance first, placing emphasis where the rewards will be greatest and most enduring, and ridding herself of the less rewarding activities.”  

I will be engaged in this simplification process the next few weeks.  I will update you on how I’m doing with it.  I’m not done with this minimalist topic at all.

Published by: freethecolors

Fun, creative, and humorous are words that describe me. I spend a lot of time with my family which consists of my husband, 4 children and extended relatives. I enjoy making and maintaining true and lasting friendships. Photography, writing, and music help express myself in artistic ways. I love all kinds of sports like basketball, volleyball, and tennis. I am a special education teacher in an urban school district. I feel it's my mission to teach children with disabilities and to be their advocate.

Categories Life, PhotographyLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

