Road Trip to Nauvoo

Going on road trips is one of my passions in life. It’s a great opportunity to converse with family while stuck in a vehicle for hours. I also take pictures of places as they pass before my eyes, most likely never seeing them again in my lifetime. At least, they are preserved in my art. Last week, my family went on a trip to Nauvoo, Illinois – a very historic place for mormons like me. It’s a city that the pioneers built after being driven out of Missouri in the 1800’s. The center of attraction is the Nauvoo Temple. The original temple was burned down by anti-mormon mob. However, the temple was rebuilt in the 2000’s. It was very inspiring to see the majestic temple and the Nauvoo pageant depicting the faith and lives of the early mormon pioneers.

We also visited Carthage Jail, the place where the Prophet Joseph Smith and his brother Hyrum Smith were shot by an angry mob. Seeing the place evoked feelings of awe, and reverence. They gave up their lives for the Savior Jesus Christ.

I am grateful for the pioneers’ legacy of faith and sacrifice. I shall live my life so that their sacrifices will not be in vain.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by: freethecolors

Fun, creative, and humorous are words that describe me. I spend a lot of time with my family which consists of my husband, 4 children and extended relatives. I enjoy making and maintaining true and lasting friendships. Photography, writing, and music help express myself in artistic ways. I love all kinds of sports like basketball, volleyball, and tennis. I am a special education teacher in an urban school district. I feel it's my mission to teach children with disabilities and to be their advocate.

Categories Faith, Family, PhotographyLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

