Supermoon ….again

The last time I posted on the Supermoon was in May 2012.  The past two nights I’ve been hunting for the supermoon again. Last night, we went to a park in Deer Park to get a preview of what it would be like to catch it while rising up the horizon.  I dragged my youngest, Jon Lee, so he could take a picture of it. You could tell he was very excited. Sigh. We were a little late as it was already up the in the sky.

Image

 

Then, tonight Levi and I waited and waited at the same park and it never came out.

DSC_2795

It must have been the clouds covering it. As we were driving home, we saw it rise above our neighborhood so I excitedly told him to stop at the parking lot of a school so we could take pictures of it before it rises higher in the sky which makes it appear smaller.  These are some of the images Levi captured.

supermoon1
I love how it appears eerie.

 

 

 

supermoon2
In other cultures, a lot of superstitious beliefs are associated with the supermoon

 

 

 

DSC_0047
yeah, the moon in the palm of my hand….so worth the waiting
Published by: freethecolors

Fun, creative, and humorous are words that describe me. I spend a lot of time with my family which consists of my husband, 4 children and extended relatives. I enjoy making and maintaining true and lasting friendships. Photography, writing, and music help express myself in artistic ways. I love all kinds of sports like basketball, volleyball, and tennis. I am a special education teacher in an urban school district. I feel it's my mission to teach children with disabilities and to be their advocate.

Categories Family, Photography2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Supermoon ….again”

  1. I always love your photos. I was at Crenshaw Park this morning at 6am and was inspired by the beauty of the moon. I was lucky to see it and also see a lovely sunrise during my hour at the park. 🙂

Leave a Reply

