Sam Houston Statue

Last January 25th, we visited the Sam Houston Statue because we wanted to see some snow, a rare sight in this part of  Texas.  We had freezing temperature in Houston but there was not enough moisture in the air to produce snow. Instead, we just got ice. Not exciting at all but my husband who always thought of spontaneous things to do suggested that we go to Huntsville since they had snow showers the day before. So off we went to our mini adventure. I brought my camera with me and it felt so good to be back to my hobby after some hibernation period. It has been months since I felt passionate about photography. I guessed we’ve had so many personal challenges lately that dealing with them have drained some of my artistic energy. When surviving is the game, all else remain in the background.

As  we started seeing the patches of snow on the side of the road, a sense of excitement overcame me.  Then, we arrived at the monument which still had about an inch of snow all around its surrounding. I quickly made a little snowball and took a picture of it so I could post it on Facebook (such a social media addict).  Levi and Poleev immediately made their way to the statue while I followed after them, taking pictures of whatever captured my attention. I will not forget how happy Poleev looked as he had his pictures taken with us in front of the statue and around the park. It’s the little adventures like these that rejuvenate my enthusiasm for life. Now, I’m ready once again to face whatever hardships  that come my way for I know they will come when you have a son with autism.

DSC_6015

1511978_808960742451037_2062266000_o

DSC_6010

DSC_5991 DSC_5982

DSC_5984 DSC_6009

Published by: freethecolors

Fun, creative, and humorous are words that describe me. I spend a lot of time with my family which consists of my husband, 4 children and extended relatives. I enjoy making and maintaining true and lasting friendships. Photography, writing, and music help express myself in artistic ways. I love all kinds of sports like basketball, volleyball, and tennis. I am a special education teacher in an urban school district. I feel it's my mission to teach children with disabilities and to be their advocate.

Categories Family, PhotographyTags, , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

